Weekly Blog No 39 – Canada to UK

image

After recent events, my husband and I have decided to return to the UK.  I know that family & friends are excited  about our return, however we have many friends here in Canada that are saddened by our news. If you had asked me 9 weeks ago if I would return to the UK, I would have said no and laughed at you. Life has a way changing the direction you were travelling, some people don’t adapt to change nevertheless I like change. I’m a big believer of fate and this is one of those incidents that I think fate is involved 

Are we sad to leave Canada.

Yes, there is so much we love about Canadian life and to be honest there’s too many to list. I’m sure Canadian culture will play a big part in our lives in the future, from barbecuing to Canada Day. How could you possibly forget Canadian culture after living here for 6 years. Every international sporting event, I will be cheering both sides of the pond.

Are we looking forward to returning to the UK.

Yes we are, to be nearer to family and friends is huge, however we will miss our friends here who have become our Canadian family. They have been my emotional support since my cancer diagnosis and that is a gift to never be forgotten.

I do believe my life will be different in the UK, I feel like I’m just existing here from one appointment to another. In the UK, I will have more people who will be able to see me during working hours and even attend appointments with me on occasions. Should a miracle happen and my symptoms improve, I could maybe be able to return to work on a part-time basis, if not there is more opportunity for me to do activities to fulfil my time. I won’t have to rely on a car to go everywhere as most places will be within walking distance or public transport.

What are we both most excited about.

Family & friends of course, spending quality time together enjoying what the UK has to offer.  Travel was an enormous part of life before leaving for Canada, it was a case of people asking us, where are you going too now. Airlines in the UK, are considerably cheaper, offering more destinations making travel  more attractive. Although I could provide an itemised list, I would be here for hours.

Are there any concerns about returning to the UK.

Yes and no, health care is different in the UK, therefore it can be wonderful and frustrating at the same time.

What are we going to miss from Canada

I don’t think my UK bank account manager will be hugging me or asking if Lottie(dog) can come to our next appointment.

Beautiful scenery & open, clean and uncongested roads.
The phase “Have a good day”.

Speedy service everywhere.

Drive thru’s.

My Family Physician – I’m going to pack him into my suitcase, he doesn’t know that just yet.

Open plan houses, basement living,  his & her washhand basins, more than one washroom and upstairs laundry.

Lack of rain and blue skies.

Cheap gasoline/petrol.

More flexible business hours, for health care, shopping and banking.

Summary 

There are pros and cons to every country and I’m ready to deal with whatever is thrown at us.

10 thoughts on “Weekly Blog No 39 – Canada to UK

  1. There are pros and cons with everything Kat, you have to do what is best for you. I hope moving back here goes smoothly and I look forward to reading your new blogs. Take care Kat xx

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hello, I so so understand the pros and cons you describe in your moving across the ocean. I wish you all the best with your challenges and relocations. Beautiful blog by the way! Best of luck with everything. Joanna (from Missoula!)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I think the single most important thing to have around you is family. I know that the support and love they will provide you with makes Team Kat that much stronger. Congratulations on your decision.

    Like

Leave a Reply

