Weekly Blog No 60 – Food Discovery 

 IMG_1658

Earlier this year, I did mention in Challenge No 27 that I was going to try to extend my skills in cooking etc. I wanted to eat less processed food, which I believe I’ve achieved. However there is always room for improvement.

My GI symptoms have not improved but I do think there is an element of underlying food allergies. I have previously been tested for coeliac in the UK & Canada and it has always came back negative.  Yet other tests have shown that I am gluten intolerant. I do have an allergy to the protein in cow’s milk, I’m not lactose intolerant, therefore I have refrained from cows milk in over 10 years especially in tea & coffee.  I’m a big fan of almond milk and I will use the product in cereal, puddings or sauces etc.

I will be the first to say I’m no saint, I don’t have the complete discipline in avoiding bad food for me.  When I say that, I don’t mean eating loads of cakes or chocolate. What maybe is considered as healthy to you its not good for me. For instance a nice chicken salad sandwich is a sensible option for most people but bread for me is not a good option, bang goes my discipline.

I have read & learned from other people’s blogs and gained  some fantastic ideas, which I’m working through. At present I’m making soups, this is my version of a root vegetable soup. Carrot, parsnip, turnip, onion, garlic and vegetable stock.

IMG_1657-0

I’ve recently discovered spiral carrots and cauliflower couscous, I have the carrots instead of pasta and cauliflower for rice.  Yum yum

IMG_1655

IMG_1656

I shall continue to work on clean living & healthy choices, nevertheless Rome wasn’t built overnight. If anyone has information or recipes to share please do

Written in UK English.

9 thoughts on “Weekly Blog No 60 – Food Discovery 

  1. Soup looks great, I’m a big soup fan😃 I am wheat intolerant, diagnosed 2 years ago, and love to cook, so happy to swap recipes. Big fan of anything coconut, and quinoa or buckwheat are great alternatives to couscous.

    Tried making gluten free bread, sort of got it right, but tend to buy tesco seeded gf sliced and freeze, then I can just get out what I need😉

    Keep up the good work Xx

    Like

  2. Grated cauliflower makes a great substitute for rice with a curry. The other thing you can try is using leeks in a lasagne instead of the pasta sheets. I have a really great recipe from the Hairy Bikers.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

